Not faking it

Ever watched something and gotten the feeling that somebody was trying to cheat in some drama?

Trying to cover up a weak plot with gaping holes with a gratuitous ton of fight or battle scenes? Or car chases? Or sex scenes? Or explosions? Or over the top plot twists?

Desperately hoping nobody would notice just how boring the story actually was?

Ironically, watching the truly magnificent series “Breaking Bad” has gotten me thinking about this. About how much poor storytelling I have settled for as a viewer in the past, because I didn’t think I could do any better.

You know what it’s like. Things start out with so much promise.

You start watching an exciting new TV series and get thoroughly hooked. Just falling in love with it.

And then the “inevitable” decline in quality begins.

Things get stale as it wears on.

After a while you know the magic is gone, but you find it hard to let go. Hoping that things can somehow be good again.

And then the abuse starts.

The plot just becomes more and more ridiculous, overblown and insulting until you finally have no choice but to preserve your own sanity and stop watching.

I get the feeling that “Breaking Bad” is a series that will never treat its audience that way.

I’m just about to commence watching the 4th season of “Breaking Bad”. (I know – I’m way behind the rest of the planet. Story of my life. Nevermind…)

And what never ceases to amaze me if how consistently strong the writing still is.

Not only do the character and relationship arcs never lose their momentum and dramatic build, but every moment of every scene in every part of the plot is brilliantly motivated.

And the plot twists – especially the big dramatic moments – are genuinely surprising. (Understatement. I never see them coming. And I’m usually one of those unbearable people who can usually pick the big plot surprise about 3 minutes into the story. I’m loving this!)

(Sigh) If only all drama could be this good…


Breaking Bad Trailer (Season One)

Leave a Reply

